ArtForceIowa is a 501c3 non-profit governed by a board of directors.  The organization is managed by Christine Her, Yvette Zaród Hermann, Emma Parker, and Michelle Jackson. Professional artists serve as Artist-Mentors. These artists lead workshops and develop positive relationships with youth.


Christine Her.jpg

Christine Her
Interim Executive Director
DSM Heroes, Program Manager                                   
(515) 777-3182

Christine is a human rights activist. After graduating from Drake University with degrees in Creative Writing, Political Science and Philosophy, she began working at DHS where she helped provide free legal assistance to hundreds of refugees. She has experience with content curation, consumer marketing, event planning, positive youth development and programming.



Yvette Zaród Hermann 
Program Director                                                               
(515) 777-3182

Yvette is a passionate advocate for the rights of young people. As a New York City Teaching Fellow, Yvette earned her Master's of Science in Education from CUNY Lehman College while working in a public high school in the Bronx. She has 13 years of arts-integrated teaching experience. She has taught widely in Des Moines Public Schools, at the YMCA, Des Moines Performing Arts, Grand View University and DMACC Urban Campus.



Emma Parker
Youth Engagement Specialist/Community Youth Concepts Youth Service Momentum AmeriCorps Member                            
(515) 777-3182

Emma is our Community Youth Concepts Youth Service Momentum AmeriCorps Member. She graduated from Iowa State University with a BFA in Studio Art . She provides financial support and assists with programming. 

Michelle Jackson
Production Manager
StreetCred Studios 
(515) 777-3182

Michelle is our StreetCred Studios Production Manager. She's passionate about working with troubled youth and believes in second chances. 

Artist-Mentor Team 

Current Artist-Mentors Include:

Visual Arts
Saulaman Schlegel, Reiko Uchytil, Jordan Olson, Johnathan Fusco, Dan Nutt, Kathryn E. Sutton, Cody Sherman, Emma Parker

Christine Her, Micah Smith, Patrick MacCready

Hip-hop Production
Saulaman Schlegel, Jason Gorsuch

Filmmaking and Photography
Kristian Day, Dan Jaquez

Theater and Creative Writing
Yvette Hermann, Sarah Welch, Jami DeVries, Rachel Vogel Quin

Board Members

Carl Vieregger, Professor of Management & International Business, Drake University, Project Director, United Way of Central Iowa

Kimberly Graham, Attorney (specialist in Family Law)

James Bell, Motivational Speaker

Sharon Wegner, Attorney (specialist in Juvenile Courts)

Hoang Tran, Design Architect, RDG Dahlquist Studios

John Mark Robert Feilmeyer, Nonprofit Leader, MyAgro

Michael A. Gilmer, Attorney, Davis Brown Law (specialist in Taxation)

Anna Tran, ‎Internal Auditor, Fidelity & Guaranty Life